The Walmart Scandal and the Virgin of Guadalupe


Walmart has been in the news recently for paying bribes to Mexican officials to expand its business south of the USA border.  Anyone who has spent time in Mexico will find nothing surprising in this story.  As Reuters accurately reports: “Whether you are the world’s No. 1 retailer or a humble street vendor, paying public officials a bribe may be the quickest way to get your business growing in Mexico.”

I must admit that I love Mexico and the Mexican people.  Because of that I am a frequent visitor to my southern neighbor.  With reference to the Walmart story, I particularly recall a visit to a friend in Mexico some two decades ago. My friend took me for a drive in the country outside of Mexico City and I vividly recall his making sure he had enough cash on hand to bribe any police officers who might stop his car for some bogus reason.  Seeing my surprise, he explained that bribery is a way of life in Mexico.  Everyone does it and everyone expects to pay bribes to police and government officials as part of daily life in the country.  At first I thought my Mexican friend was joking but various visits to Mexico revealed that he was telling the truth about bribery in Mexico, without exaggeration.  No doubt this is one reason why the drug cartels have gained such prominence and are so difficult to eradicate.

Mexico has a thriving astrological community and I was honored to be invited to speak to the NCGR group in Mexico City on various occasions.  I befriended the gifted astrologer Luis Lesur, now deceased (I miss him dearly), and we kept up a lively correspondence over the years.  I recall discussing with Luis his ideas about the Virgin of Guadalupe and how the chart of her “miracle” typified much about the Mexican character.  Luis published a book (I think in 2005) entitled Las Claves Ocultas de la Virgen de Guadalupe in which he expounded his thesis.  Unfortunately, I don’t think the book has been translated into English but a brief outline of his ideas can be found (in English) at the Astrodienst site.

In any case, the chart of the Virgin has the Sun in Sagittarius in the 2nd house of money in square aspect to Neptune in Pisces in the 5th of speculative investments. The Sun rules the Leo 10th house of government and authority.  Could this be a signature of the pervasive desire of Mexican government and police officials to garner quick money through bribery?

The first Walmart store was opened on July 2, 1962, in Rogers, Arkansas.   The natal Neptune of this first Walmart store closely conjoins the Scorpio Ascendant of the Guadalupe Virgin’s chart.

Walmart was incorporated on October 31, 1969, in Bentonville, Arkansas.  The natal Sun of the incorporation chart conjoins the Guadalupe Virgin’s Ascendant within 5 degrees.  The natal Venus, Jupiter, Mercury, and Sun of the Walmart incorporation chart all fall in the 12th house (of scandal) of the Virgin of Guadalupe chart.

It seems clear that Walmart has close astrological ties with the Ascendant of the Virgin of Guadalupe chart.  I think Luis was on target with his ideas about the Virgin and the fate of Mexico.

Virgin of Guadalupe and Walmart's Bribery Scandal

About Anthony Louis

Author of books about astrology and tarot, including TAROT PLAIN AND SIMPLE, HORARY ASTROLOGY, and THE ART OF FORECASTING WITH SOLAR RETURNS.
This entry was posted in Astrology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Walmart Scandal and the Virgin of Guadalupe

  1. Raquel says:

    I can’t belive someone writes this bunch of stupid issues about Virgin of Guadalupe. I hope it can be a joke. Besides: not everybody in Mexico do bribery. There are millions of honest people in Mexico (I include myself). In the case of Wallmart ( like others) it was needed two parts: the corrupted mexican autorities and… The poor litltle victims of Walmart.

    • Raquel,

      I may not have been clear enough in stating that my Mexican friends have repeatedly told me that to get ahead in business in Mexico you must bribe politicians and the police. The vast majority of Mexicans that I have met are honest and hard working and have always treated me with great hospitality. The political system appears to be corrupt, which allows the drug lords to buy the political favor of government officials and the police. Mexican film makers have made several movies about government corruption. One notable movie is Arau’s Calzonzin Inspector, which a Mexican friend had me watch during my last visit to Mexico. Luis’s book about the Virgin of Guadalupe had to do with ideas about the character of the Mexican nation.

      I am no defender of Walmart. In this case, however, there must have been hundreds of greedy political officials who were willing to take perhaps millions of dollars in brides from Walmart for the store to be able to expand and prosper so rapidly throughout the country. You are right that the honest Mexican people, who are in the majority, are the ones to suffer.

Leave a Reply

