A Neat Astrology Program


Recently I was doing a google search regarding primary directions and came across an intriguing astrology calculation program called ZET by Anatoly Zaytsev of the Ukraine.  The graphics were quite impressive and informative.  There is even a freeware version which you can download and play with.  I took the liberty of reproducing one of the graphics from the program below.  It depicts the birth planets of the famous 17th century French astrologer Jean-Baptiste Morin and shows their apparent movements along their diurnal arcs as the earth turns on its axis in the hours after his birth (the basis of primary directions).

Illustration of primary directed movements of Jean-Baptiste Morin's birth chart from the ZET program.

Illustration of primary directed movements of Jean-Baptiste Morin’s birth chart from the ZET program.  The diurnal circles of the planets run parallel to the Earth’s Equator.   Note that the Moon’s declination is less than 1 degree south, so it appears travel along and just below the Equator.

The ZET software was unfamiliar to me until I stumbled upon this site.  The graphics were so impressive that I wanted to make others aware of it.  If anyone owns and uses this program, I’d love to hear about your experience with it.  This program is on my “wish list” since I don’t really need another professional astrology program at this time but I’d love to have access to all the graphics features it presents.

This is Morin’s birth chart with Regiomontanus houses, which he preferred:

Morin

About Anthony Louis

Author of books about astrology and tarot, including TAROT PLAIN AND SIMPLE, HORARY ASTROLOGY, and THE ART OF FORECASTING WITH SOLAR RETURNS.
This entry was posted in Astrology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Neat Astrology Program

  1. Eric says:

    I’ve been using the free version for about three years now alongside Morinus, and I’m very pleased. My favorite feature is the ability to create various setting profiles that can be switched in a second and control pretty much every option available. You can go from Tropical Placidus with modern planets to Sidereal Whole Sign with traditional planets in a matter of seconds.

    On a related note, have you ever experimented with the Stellarium astronomical freeware? I’ve found that the ability to display the sky from any time and location with a variety of settings really helps understand the astronomy behind the astrology.

  2. Hawkins Deb says:

    I’ve used Zet exclusively for many years and love them. Mine is free but I upgraded to the Zet 9 I think it is. Gives you the option for more fixed stars and asteroids where 8 had a more limited amount.
    One can see to buy the program gives far more benefits too. Depends on how serious a person is with it I suppose. But I like it as user friendly.

Leave a Reply

