An Unexpected Visit


I have told this story before, but for some reason it’s been recently on my mind.  Back in 1967 when I was in graduate school in New York City, I had an experience which helped to cement my interest in astrology.  During the week before Thanksgiving a fellow graduate student, who was into astrology, offered to look at my birth chart.  After getting out her ephemeris and mumbling about my transits and the 11th house, she told me that I would have an unexpected visit from an old friend a few days before Thanksgiving.

To me this seemed highly unlikely since most of my friends were scattered across the country pursuing their own graduate studies, and none of them lived in NYC.   Nonetheless, on Monday evening, November 20, 1967, the doorbell to my apartment rang. An old friend from college had stopped by to say hello.  He was studying in Washington, DC, and was passing through NYC on his way home to Connecticut, where we both hailed from.  Needless to say, I was quite pleased by the unexpected visit but also astonished that my astrologer friend had made such an accurate and specific prediction.

In looking back, I don’t recall how she made her forecast, so I have tried to reconstruct it. Below is my natal chart inside (Whole Sign Houses) with the transits for Monday evening, November 20, 1967, at about 7 pm in NYC in the outside wheel.

Friends are an 11th house matter.  Leo rules my natal 11th house, which contains the planets Venus, Moon, Pluto and Mercury.

On Monday evening, November 20, 1967, the transiting Moon in activating by sextile my natal Sun which rules the Leo 11th house of friends.  The transiting Moon is also activating my natal Ascendant, which is being conjoined by transiting Venus.  Both the Moon and Venus occupy my 11th house natally.  I assume that my astrologer friend was focusing on transiting Venus conjoining my natal Ascendant at the beginning of Thanksgiving week that year, when she made her prediction.  Why an unexpected visit?  Perhaps she was looking at transiting Sun sextile transiting Uranus (surprises) at the same time.

COMPLETE TAROT

 

About Anthony Louis

Author of books about astrology and tarot, including TAROT PLAIN AND SIMPLE, HORARY ASTROLOGY, and THE ART OF FORECASTING WITH SOLAR RETURNS.
This entry was posted in Astrology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

